Episode 55 (Halftime): Branded

The word brand is very complex, yet it is thrown around a lot these days; most of the time carelessly or in complete ignorance as it regards to what a brand is. In this episode of Halftime, I discuss the origins of branding, its definition according to the American Marketing Association: ama.org, as well as dive deep into the semantics of the word and what it means in the modern era.

I also give specific examples of brands in the sports context such as Kentucky Basketball:twitter.com/kentuckymbb, Oregon Football: twitter.com/wintheday and the New Zealand All Blacks:twitter.com/allblacks, as well as discuss the complexity of a college athletic department's brand in relation to an individual program's team brand.

How much do brands have to do with a team being picked in the College Football Playoff:www.collegefootballplayoff.com? I touch on a recent article: espn.go.com/college-football/st…ge-football-playoff by ESPN's Heather Dinich: twitter.com/cfbheather and elaborate on the importance of trust and equity when it comes to brands.

Lastly, I discuss color, it's signifance in branding and share why there are more important things than a logo when it comes to branding.

Mentions include:

Wally Olins: wallyolins.com
Wolff Olins: wolffolins.com
Kentucky basketball: www.ukathletics.com/sport/m-baskbl
John Calipari: coachcal.com
Ohio State football: www.ohiostatebuckeyes.com/sports/m-foo…bl-body.html
New Zealand All Blacks: allblacks.com
The Haka dance: www.allblacks.com/Teams/Haka
Phil Knight, Nike: www.forbes.com/profile/phil-knight/
Oregon football: oregongridiron.com
Branding in College Football via Sports Illustrated: www.si.com/college-football/20…ennessee-volunteers
Brand Name and Polls Go Hand in Hand via ESPN: espn.go.com/college-football/st…ge-football-playoff
How Nike and Oregon Created College Football's Perfect Brand: bleacherreport.com/articles/211885…s-perfect-brand

My next guest is Ashley Strauss: twitter.com/ashleystrauss. Ashley is the Director of Creative Services for Mississippi State Athletics where she works on print and digital design for the Bulldogs' many athletic teams.

Sign up: makersofsport.com/email for the weekly email newsletter for updates, discounts on future products and exclusive content for subscribers.

Did you enjoy this episode? Then please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow show host, @TAdamMartintwitter.com/tadammartinand @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport on twitter and Dribbble: dribbble.com/tadammartin.

 

sports brandingsports designsports design podcastsports marketingoregon footballphil knightkentucky basketballsports businesssportsbizgraphic designlogo designall blacksvisual identity