Episode 58: Surf Melendez, Managing Director of Content & Creative, Miami Dolphins

"Yearly campaigns shouldn't be a reinvention of who you are. There should be a core of what you are & what you stand for & what you look like."

On this week's show, Surf Melendez: twitter.com/surfm joins me to discuss his non-traditional path to the Miami Dolphins where he is Managing Director of Content & Creative for the team overseeing a group of talented creatives that are working with ownership to build an in-house agency.

From an architecture degree at Florida, to a career in the restaurant industry & finance, we touch on Surf's eventual landing at ad agency Crispin Porter Bogusky: cpbgroup.com where he launched into the creative world.

Due to the crazy hours of advertising and having kids, Surf tell of life change and a passion for sport that lead to Adidas where he created for running, training & football.

The want to move back home pointed him to the Miami, where they were wanting to build an in-house agency and serendipitously, the CMO used to be at CP+B client BK. We discuss the team's moves to cultivate a creative culture, their campaigns, controlling what goes out from a marketing perspective and their approach to building a global brand.

Finally, Surf leaves us with wisdom on building brands from within organizations. Be sure to stick around after the ending for some extra audio regarding a Dolphins/Marvel collab.

Mentions include:

Surf's Twitter: twitter.com/surfm
Miami Dolphins IG: instagram.com/miamidolphins
Crispin Porter Bogusky: www.cpbgroup.com
Alex Bogusky's Twitter: twitter.com/bogusky
BK's Subservient Chicken: subservientchicken.com
Bogusky leaves advertising: www.fastcompany.com/1676890/alex-bo…y-find-his-soul
Victors & Spoils: www.victorsandspoils.com
Evan Fry, CCO of V&S: evanfry.com
Noah Clark, CD at V&S: twitter.com/noahdclark
Jon Willey, Dolphins Photographer: twitter.com/jonwilley
MetaLab - web design shop I mention: metalab.co
Ep42: Chris David Garcia: makersofsport.com/episodes/42/chris-david-garcia
Nike Better World: www.nike.com/us/en_us/c/better-world/
Nike's Girl Effect: www.girleffect.org
Ep37: Matt Lange: makersofsport.com/episodes/37/matt-lange
HBO's Ballers: www.hbo.com/ballers
London Olympics, Wolff Olins: archive.wolffolins.com/work/london-2012?ghost=1
Bill Roseman, Marvel: marvel.com/comics/creators/123/bill_rosemann

My next guest is Eric Bodamer: twitter.com/ericbodamer, uniform designer for Adidas's NHL Division. Prior to Adidas, Eric has had an extensive career at companies such as Nike, Reebok, Target and more. He's also had cameos on shows 35: makersofsport.com/episodes/35/tom-ogrady and 47:makersofsport.com/episodes/47/mlc-…nnect-interviews. Join us for an interesting view into the world of uniform design for hockey.

Sign up: makersofsport.com/email for the weekly email newsletter for updates, discounts on future products & exclusive content.

Did you enjoy this episode? Please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow host, @TAdamMartintwitter.com/tadammartin and @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport.

sports designsports creativesportsbizsports businesssports marketingalex boguskycrispin porteradvertisingad agenciesvictors & spoilssurf melendezmakers of sportsports design podcastmiami dolphins