Episode 61 (Halftime): Writing as Design

Design is about communication. It is about articulating decisions made from a professional perspective in order to sell something, or have a user do something. Other than speaking verbally, writing is the most important skill set to have when communicating ideas or opinions.

On this Halftime, I discuss why the people that are the best at their craft are also good writers and why writing is designing words. In order to be great at what you do, you also MUST be a good communicator. Being able to articulate and construct your ideas in written form are very important to our growth as creatives and as human beings.

Mentions include:

Slack: slack.com
Medium: medium.com
Basecamp: basecamphq.com
Richard Branson, Virgin: www.virgin.com/richard-branson
Warren Buffett: www.forbes.com/profile/warren-buffett/
Jillian Michaels: www.jillianmichaels.com
Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook: www.forbes.com/profile/sheryl-sandberg/
Dave Ramsey: daveramsey.com
Tina Fey: www.imdb.com/name/nm0275486/
Mark Ecko: twitter.com/marcecko
Jeffrey Zeldman, Happy Cog Founder: zeldman.com
A List Apart: aslistapart.com
Jeremy Keith, Clearleft: clearleft.com/is/jeremy-keith
Pencil vs. Pixel podcast: pencilvspixel.com
Todd Van Horne, Nike GIG: news.nike.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C…rms=todd+van+horne
Google Design: design.google.com
Episode 59: Subjective vs. Objective: makersofsport.com/episodes/59/subj…ive-vs-objective
Episode 25: Interception Show: makersofsport.com/episodes/25/interception-show
Joe Bosack, Joe Bosack & Co. joebosack.com

My next guest is Michelle Cruz: cruzbydesign.com, Senior Art Director of the New York Red Bulls:newyorkredbulls.com. Prior to the Red Bulls, Michelle spent many years at ESPN as a broadcast designer working on much of the visual work still in use today, as well as the New York Knicks as an art director.

Sign up: makersofsport.com/email for the weekly email newsletter for updates, discounts on future products and exclusive content for subscribers.

Did you enjoy this episode? Then please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow show host, @TAdamMartintwitter.com/tadammartinand @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport on twitter and Dribbble: dribbble.com/tadammartin.