MAKERS OF SPORT PODCAST #37: Matt Lange, Director of Creative, University of Alabama Football

"Do as much work as you can. Do it the best that you can."

Matt Lange: twitter.com/mattjlange, Director of Creative for the 15-time national champion University of Alabama Football Program: www.rolltide.com/sports/m-footbl/, joins the show this week to discuss his career path and give us some insight into designing in-house for big-time college athletics.

Matt tells his story regarding his climb from being laid off at a small ad agency, being forced into freelance grinding away to find work and eventually landing a gig as a photographer and designer for the Atlanta Falcons before landing his dream job at the University of Alabama

We discuss Matt's passion for photography, how having a deep understanding of it influences his composite work, as well as where he finds inspiration.

Lastly for you hip-hop fans, Matt and I talk about Southern Hip-Hop, specifically No Limit Records and its early influence on the graphic design styles of work we see today.

Mentions Include:

Matt Lange: mattlange.com/
Follow Matt on Twitter: twitter.com/mattjlange
Matt Lange's Behance: www.behance.net/langecreative
Panini America: www.paniniamerica.net/
Scott Kelby: scottkelby.com/
Photoshop World: photoshopworld.com/
Donald Page: twitter.com/donaldppage
The Grid: kelbytv.com/thegrid/
Master P: www.trutanksoldiers.com/
Pen & Pixel: penandpixel.com/
Makers of Sport Episode 1: Matt Hernandez: makersofsport.com/episodes/1/matt-hernandez
Makers of Sport Episode 4: Todd Radom: makersofsport.com/episodes/4/todd-radom
Defining the Visual Style of Southern Hip Hop - Noisey Design (Episode 3): www.youtube.com/watch?v=08rPLhdBpQI
Makers of Sport Episode 4: Jason Feirman, former Publications Director at LSU:makersofsport.com/episodes/3/jason-feirman
Dave Hill: davehillphoto.com/
Gary Land: garyland.com/
Blair Bunting: www.blairbunting.com/
Jonathan Mannion: jonathanmannion.com/
The Hejz: hejz.com/

On our next show, the partners of Doubleday & Cartwright: doubledayandcartwright.com will be joining the podcast. D&C is a New York City creative agency focusing on sport and culture. Along with working with clients such as Nike, ESPN and Red Bull, D&C is recently noted for designing the new Milwaukee Bucks visual identity: www.nba.com/bucks/new-logo.

Did you enjoy this episode? Then please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow show, @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport, as well the host on Twitter: twitter.com/tadammartin and Dribbble: dribbble.com/tadammartin.