MAKERS OF SPORT PODCAST #38: Side Projects

Side projects can be good for our careers and even our mental health. They help us grow as creatives and give us something to look forward to that we can control. Something that doesn't have the pressure of a client or other stakeholder.

In this episode of Halftime, Adam discusses the importance of side projects, how they can make us become known for something and can lead to our dream clients.

Mentions include:

Jeni Herberger, The Fulcrum Agency: twitter.com/jeniherberger

AIRMAX 100 Project: max100project.com

Episode 15: Matt Stevens: makersofsport.com/episodes/15/matt-stevens

Episode 22: Fraser Davidson: makersofsport.com/episodes/22/fraser-davidson

Jessica Hische: jessicahische.is/

Daily Drop Cap: www.dailydropcap.com/

Tobias van Schneider, Spotify: twitter.com/schneidertobias

Spotify's Design Lead on Why Side Projects Should be Stupid: firstround.com/review/Spotifys-D…Should-be-Stupid/

Dan Simon, Studio Simon: studiosimon.com

Episode 2: Joe Bosack & Co. makersofsport.com/episodes/2/joe-bosack

Episode 10: Ben Jenkins, Warstic Bat Co. makersofsport.com/episodes/10/ben-jenkins

Episode 27: Bethany Heck, The Eephus League: makersofsport.com/episodes/27/bethany-heck

Lifehacker: Why Side Projects Are Good For You: lifehacker.com/why-creative-side…or-you-1612792201

Episode 34 (Halftime): Just Start: makersofsport.com/episodes/34/just-start

On the next podcast, the partners of Doubleday & Cartwright: doubledayandcartwright.com/will be joining the podcast. D&C is a New York City creative agency focusing on sport and culture. Along with working with clients such as Nike, ESPN and Red Bull, D&C is recently noted for designing the newMilwaukee Bucks visual identity: www.nba.com/bucks/new-logo.

Did you enjoy this episode? Then please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow show @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport, as well the host onTwitter: twitter.com/tadammartin and Dribbble: dribbble.com/tadammartin.

 

side projectssports designcreativitypassion projectsgraphic designmax100 projectmatt stevens designfraser davidsonjoe bosackbethany heckwarstic bat companyonefastbuffalotobias van schneiderjessica hischedaily drop capsports businessentrepreneurship