Episode 50: Adam Bradley and Alan Stein, Co-Founders, Hardwood Hustle

"As soon you start worrying about outcomes and not worrying about processes, then you're lost."

This week we are joined by some of my favorite podcasters for Episode 50, Adam Bradley:twitter.com/abradley5 and Alan Stein: twitter.com/alanstein of the Hardwood Hustle:hardwoodhustle.com podcast.

This isn't our typical sports design-related show, but it is filled with great content in regards to leadership, hustling in your craft, coaching and creativity in the sports business.

Hardwood Hustle's mission is "for those that know basketball is more than a game." The guys interview folks such as Mark Cuban, Kevin Durant, Jay Bilas and many other sports entrepenuers and personalities.

In this episode, we discuss the story of the Hardwood Hustle, why they started a podcast and the intimacy of the podcasting medium for developing an audience or teaching your mission.

We also touch on sports entrepreneurship and its crossover with coaching. Including why combining your passion with what you are good at is vital.

Lastly, the guys share their views on the problems of youth sports & coaching in the U.S. and what we as creative people and entrepreneurs can do about it — including becoming better coaches, teachers and mentors.

Mentions include:

Hardwood Hustle on Twitter: twitter.com/hardwood_hustle
Hardwood Hustle website: hardwoodhustle.com
Alan Stein on Twitter: twitter.com/alanstein
Adam Bradley on Twiter: twitter.com/abradley5
Stronger Team: strongerteam.com
Ball Hogs Radio: www.ballhogsradio.com
Too Many Games article by Alan Stein: www.strongerteam.com/2013/06/25/too-many-games/
Paul Rabil: paulrabil99.com
Ali Krieger, U.S. Women's National Team: www.alikrieger.com
Massimo Vignielli: www.vignelli.com
Leademup: leademup.com

Our next guest is Chris Creamer: twitter.com/sportslogosnet. Chris is the founder and editor-in-chief of the most popular sports logo and uniform history site on the web, SportsLogos.net: sportslogos.net.

Sign up: makersofsport.com/email for the weekly email newsletter for updates, discounts on future products and exclusive content for subscribers.

Did you enjoy this episode? Then please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow show host, @TAdamMartintwitter.com/tadammartinand @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport on twitter and Dribbble: dribbble.com/tadammartin.

 

hardwood hustlecoachingyouth sportssports designsports businesssports marketingalan steinadam bradleyballhogs radiostronger teamdematha baskeetballnike basketballhoopsyouth coachinghigh school sportssports design podcast