Episode 71: Brian Gundell, Brian Gundell Graphic Design Co.

“The best designers are always problem-solvers...[our] job is to figure out how to make this [project] the best it can be.”

On this week’s podcast, freelance sports designer Brian Gundell: twitter.com/bgundell joined the show to discuss his career working in a few different limbs of the sports industry. From agency side to Nike to the MLB to college football recruiting, Brian has an varied history in this niche of design.

Brian touches on the importance of SportsLogos.net to his entry into sports design, as well as the importance of networking and building relationships with folks in this very small industry.

We laugh about the ridiculousness of college football recruiting graphics and Brian elaborates on this newest position for designers in sports.

Lastly, we touch on the lack of upward mobility in college sports and Brian leaves us with some insight into his move to full-time freelance.

Mentions include:

Brian on Twitter: twitter.com/bgundell
Episode 52: Chris Creamer of SportsLogos.net: makersofsport.com/episodes/52/chris-creamer
Episode 67: Aaron Masik, Upper Deck: makersofsport.com/episodes/67/aaron-masik
How Magazine: howdesign.com
Print Magazine: printmag.com
Smashing Magazine: smashingmagazine.com
Old Hat Creative: oldhatcreative.com
Episode 13: Kris Bazen: makersofsport.com/episodes/13/kristopher-bazen
Episode 11: Adam Clement, Under Armour: makersofsport.com/episodes/11/adam-clement
Todd Van Horne, Nike: news.nike.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C…rms=todd+van+horne
Episode 8: Darrin Crescenzi: makersofsport.com/episodes/8/darrin-crescenzi
Episode 44: Torch Creative: makersofsport.com/episodes/44/torch-creative
Episode 37: Matt Lange, Alabama Football: makersofsport.com/episodes/37/matt-lange
Episode 58: Surf Melendez, Miami Dolphins: makersofsport.com/episodes/58/surf-melendez
Jon Willey, Miami Dolphins: twitter.com/jonwilley
Brandon Moore, Miami Dolphins: twitter.com/brandmooreart
Episode 57: Ashley Strauss, Tennessee Titans: makersofsport.com/episodes/57/ashley-strauss
Sammy Silverman, Ohio State Football: twitter.com/sammysilv
Alex McLeland, STN Digital: twitter.com/AM_XII24
Boyd Erickson, Arizona St. twitter.com/boyderick
Create Legal: createlegal.com

My next guest is going to be Tim O'Shaughnessy: twitter.com/rustedhouse. Tim is a broadcast art director at ESPN where he has worked on motion packages for brands such as ESPN College Football, Mike & Mike, NBA on ESPN and the 2014 World Cup to name a few. Some of Tim's work can be seen at his site here:rustedhouse.com.

Sign up: makersofsport.com/email for the weekly email newsletter for updates, discounts on future products and exclusive content for subscribers.

You can also show your support for the podcast by joining the community:makersofsport.com/community and keeping it sponsor-free.

Did you enjoy this episode? Then please rate and/or write a review of the show on iTunes:makersofsport.com/itunes. Also, be sure to follow show host, @TAdamMartintwitter.com/tadammartinand @MakersofSporttwitter.com/makersofsport on twitter and Dribbble: dribbble.com/tadammartin.

 

sports designgraphic designsportsbizsports businessfootball recruitingrecruiting designbrian gundellsports marketingsportslogosnetsports branding